These are the 18 big-air kiters who will compete for the coveted African mask in early 2019

(via red bull)

The field for the 2019 Red Bull King of the Air will be made up of top nine riders from the 2018 edition as well as nine wildcards and video entrants...So, after much deliberation the last nine participants have been chosen, securing their place for the showdown on the windiest day during the waiting period in early 2019.

Confirmed for the 2019 event are defending champ Kevin Langeree, Liam Whaley and Lewis Crathern along with past champions Jesse Richman, Aaron Hadlow and 2017’s winner Nick Jacobsen who missed out on a chance to defend his title due to injury.

Amongst some of the familiar faces like Ruben Lenten, Jerrie Van De Kop and South Africans Josh Emanuel and Ross Dillon Player in the mix, there are also a couple of new names to join the field. GKA Kiteboarding 'Air Games' World Champion, Carlos Mario will make his debut at the event.

Red Bull King of the Air 2019 riders (in alphabetical order)

Aaron Hadlow (UK) (Previous winner)

Aurelien Petreau (France)

Carlos Mario (Brazil)

Gijs Wassenaar (Netherlands)

Jerrie Van De Kop (Netherlands)

Jesse Richman (USA) (Previous winner)

Joshua Emanuel (South Africa)

Kevin Langeree (Netherlands) (2018 winner)

Lasse Walker (Netherlands)

Lewis Crathern (UK)

Liam Whaley (Spain)

Marc Jacobs (New Zealand)

Nick Jacobsen (Denmark) (2017 winner)

Posito Martinez (Dominican Republic)

Ross Dillon Player (South Africa)

Ruben Lenten (Netherlands)

Sam Light (UK)

Steven Akkersdijk (Netherlands)

North Kiteboarding